firethatgrewsolow:

July 11, 1975 – Montreux Jazz Festival – Guess who’s on bass!  JPJ!!  One of the guitarists for Etta, Brian Ray, had this to say about it:  

“When I get there the band they got together was Rick Wakeman [Yes] on keyboards, John Paul Jones [Led Zeppelin] on bass, David “Fathead” Newman and “Pony” Poindexter on horns. I go to rehearsal and I’m just a kid, I didn’t know what I needed to do. I knew the material so I’m teaching them what I know and it’s coming together well, and in walks Jimmy Page and Robert Plant [Led Zeppelin]. They listened to a few songs and then Jimmy Page says “I feel like I’ve known you before, man. Like maybe in another life,” so I’m having an Aleister Crowley discussion with Jimmy Page, and they took me out to dinner in a chalet up in the Alps near Montreux.”

 

What a story!  Can you imagine?  Btw, Claude Nobs began the festival in 67 I think.  He was a really cool guy – he recorded thousands of hours of acts through the years – you can find a lot of it on youtube.  Amazing catalog. 

One more time bc Etta James is fucking fantastic.

Leave a comment